Inside technologies

 

Inside technologies

The apparent simplicity of the Emerson actually hides a complexity and a finesse far greater than it seems. From the choice of the internal components to the embedded software, each step of the development process  has been crucially thought through to enhance the listening experience.

Concept

The philosophy implemented in the Emerson is that of the straight wire: no sampling frequency conversion or data processing is applied, apart from volume control when used. The data are transmitted directly to the S/PDIF and AES/EBU modulators of the Emerson DIGITAL, or respectively to the digital-to-analog conversion chip in the case of the Emerson ANALOG.

This concept considerably complicates the software management when changing the type of stream on the fly, especially to ensure silent switching. Such a solution  guarantees a neutral restitution, without any coloration.

Network interface

Both Emerson models leverage Engineered's streaming engine, a proprietary solution based on a Sitara processor from Texas Instruments.

 

The embedded software, which handles the various network communication protocols and audio stream decoding, has been under continuous development for many years. Internal processes have been optimized to ensure audio data integrity, support for Hi-Res file formats (PCM and DSD), and a smooth and responsive user experience.

emerson-network-interface-cleaned.jpg

Clocks

Two clock generators are used alternately, depending on whether the track being played back is sampled at a base frequency of 44.1kHz or 48kHz (as well as any multiples thereof). The Emerson streamers do not include a variable oscillator or a synchronization loop. The stream of audio data is therefore directly cadenced by the active clock.

Additionally, the selected oscillators offer superlative performances, with extremely low phase noise in the audible bandwidth (below -135dBc/SQR(Hz)). The distribution of the clock signals has been carefully designed to minimize jitter throughout the digital audio signal path.

emerson-d-outputs.jpg

Output stages

The Emerson DIGITAL uses two separate modulators for the S/PDIF output and the AES/EBU output. This is the only way to meet the specifications of both standards without having to make compromises. High-speed output stages, synchronized by the main clock to avoid jitter, and the best transformers on the market ensure two independent isolated outputs and a perfect rejection of common mode problems for superior performances.

For the Emerson ANALOG, a DAC from Cirrus Logic was chosen. This is a well-proven integrated circuit capable of impressive playback quality when optimally implemented. Its power supply, output stages topology and filter circuits required a lot of adjustments, measurements and listening before validating the final solution in accordance with the product philosophy.

emerson-a-outputs.jpg

Power supply

The quality of the power supply for sensitive electronic circuits is a decisive factor for a device of this type. Once again, a close attention has been paid to the selection of the components and topologies. The choice of using an external adapter offers the advantage of keeping the mains voltage away from the core of the device. The DC voltage supplied to the Emerson by the external power supply is smoothed by a series of common and differential mode filters and then delivered to the various components of the electronic board. Each critical section of the circuits benefits from a dedicated filtering and voltage regulator to avoid undesirable interactions.

Finally, the power supplies for the clock generators, the synchronization circuits and the analog section are particularly efficient, with an extremely low electrical noise, less than 1µV RMS (measured in a frequency bandwidth from 10Hz to 100kHz).

Inside technologies

 

Choix technologiques

L’apparente simplicité des Emerson cache en réalité une complexité et une finesse bien plus importante qu’il n’y paraît.

Du choix des composants internes, en passant par les logiciels embarqués, chaque étape du développement a été cruciale pour arriver à parfaire l’expérience d’écoute.

Concept

La philosophie mise en œuvre dans les Emerson est celle du fil droit: aucune conversion de fréquence, ni traitement de donnée ne sont appliqués, outre le contrôle de volume s’il est employé. Les données sont transmises directement aux modulateurs S/PDIF et AES/EBU de l'Emerson DIGITAL, ou respectivement à la puce de conversion numérique-analogique dans le cas de l'Emerson ANALOG.

Ce concept complexifie considérablement la gestion logicielle lors des changements de type de flux, notamment pour garantir des commutations silencieuses. L’intérêt d’une telle solution est  la garantie d’une restitution neutre, sans aucune coloration.

Interface réseau

Les deux modèles Emerson exploitent le moteur de streaming d’Engineered, une solution propriétaire basée sur un processeur Sitara de Texas Instruments.

Le logiciel embarqué, qui gère les différents protocoles de communications réseau et le décodage des flux audio, fait l’objet d’un développement continu depuis de nombreuses années. Les process internes ont été optimisés pour garantir l’intégrité des données audio, le support des formats de fichiers Hi-Res (PCM et DSD), et assurer une expérience utilisateur fluide et réactive.

emerson-network-interface-cleaned.jpg

Horloges

Deux générateurs d'horloge sont utilisés alternativement, selon que le morceau en cours de lecture est échantillonné à une fréquence de base de 44.1kHz ou de 48kHz (ains que tous leurs multiples). Les streamers Emerson n’intègrent donc pas d'oscillateur variable ou de boucle de synchronisation. Le flux des données audio est ainsi directement cadencé par l'horloge active.

 

Les oscillateurs sélectionnés offrent des performances superlatives, avec un bruit de phase dans la bande audible extrêmement faible (inférieur à -135dBc/SQR(Hz)). La distribution des signaux d’horloge a été particulièrement soignée afin de minimiser le jitter sur tout le trajet du signal audio numérique.

emerson-d-outputs.jpg

Etages de sortie

L'Emerson DIGITAL utilise deux modulateurs distincts pour la sortie S/PDIF et la sortie AES/EBU. C’est l'unique moyen de respecter les spécificités des deux normes sans avoir à faire de compromis. Des étages de sortie à grande vitesse, synchronisés par l'horloge principale pour éviter tout jitter, et les meilleures transformateurs du marché assurent deux sorties isolées indépendantes, ainsi qu'une parfaite réjection des problèmes de mode commun pour des performances supérieures.

Pour l'Emerson ANALOG, le choix s'est porté sur un DAC de Cirrus Logic. Ce circuit intégré qui a largement fait ses preuves, capable d'une impressionnante qualité de restitution lorsqu'il est mis en œuvre de manière optimale. Son alimentation, la topologie des étages de sortie et les circuits de filtrage ont nécessité beaucoup d'ajustements, de mesures et d'écoutes, avant de valider la solution finale en accord avec la philosophie du produit.

emerson-a-outputs.jpg

Alimentation

La qualité de l'alimentation des circuits électroniques sensibles est déterminante pour un appareil de ce type, et là encore, une grande attention y a été apportée. Le choix d’utiliser un adaptateur externe présente l’avantage d’éloigner la tension secteur du cœur de l'appareil. La tension continue fournie à l'Emerson par l’alimentation externe est lissée par une série de filtres de mode commun et différentiels, puis distribuée aux différents constituants de la carte électronique. Chaque section critique du circuit bénéficie d’un filtrage et d’un régulateur de tension dédié permettant d'éviter les interactions indésirables.

 

Les alimentations des générateurs d'horloge, des circuits de synchronisation et de la section analogique sont particulièrement performantes, avec un bruit électrique extrêmement faible, inférieur à 1µV RMS (mesuré dans une bande de fréquence de 10Hz à 100kHz).