top of page

Madison LE System Controller

High-end digital replay – without the cost, size and complexity

With exactly the same, sophisticated, DSP-based, spline filtering algorithm and proprietary ethernet interface, the same milled-from-solid casework and minimalist but carefully selected features as the standard Madison, the LE version already offers digital input and conversion capabilities that are well beyond its price point. So, to build a better Madison, we looked at the analog output stage, the power supply and the filtering, improving its performance still further in the digital domain while increasing the musical capabilities and output characteristics of the analog circuitry.

The Madison LE still uses an external energy-efficient, switch-mode power-supply, but we were able to engineer it for reduced noise levels with the addition of an AC input filter and greater stability, by adding linear regulation. In turn, that demanded a bigger box. We could have used the same, precision machined casework as the Madison itself, but instead, given that the power supply is best placed remotely and thus, out of sight, we chose to reduce the overall price of the product by using a cost-effective, generic case: maximum increase in performance, minimum increase in price.

We also doubled the amount of power supply capacitance and improved the quality of the capacitors themselves. Then we designed an all-new analog output stage. The fully balanced and differential circuit uses two pairs of op-amps per channel, allowing us to optimise the interface to the DAC chips and improve the LE’s ability to drive a connected power amp. We also took the opportunity to improve the quality of the critical coupling caps between the DAC chips and the analog output stage.

 

The Madison LE extends the Wattson Audio concept of value-engineering. Like all of our products, it leverages the power of sophisticated, DSP-driven digital circuitry to deliver remarkable musical performance. But by budgeting additional engineering and material resources to the power supply and analog sections, it provides an even better working environment for its digital circuitry and an even more capable output stage – with very real musical benefits.

 

With its ghostly quiet noise floor and the ability to really drive the connected power amp(s), the Madison LE delivers musical dynamics and authority, nuance and subtleties that are normally the province of vastly more expensive (and far larger) products. It stays true to the Wattson Audio ethos of superior musical performance, coupled to forward looking, space efficient and resource sensitive design.

 

True high-end performance has never been more accessible – or easier to live with!

System and setups

Review real world systems adopted by and the comments of our Wattson Audio community members.

You’ll find the Madison LE in good company in a multitude of different setups.

audio-setup-photos-web.jpg
Key features
  • Proprietary bit perfect and asynchronous streaming solution

  • Support for PCM and DSD high-definition formats

  • New up-sampling process with time-domain optimization, legacy of the famous Anagram Technology up-samplers

  • Lossless LEEDH Processing volume control for direct connection to power amplifiers

  • Adjustable bass response to compensate for speaker placement near walls

  • Ultra-low phase noise oscillators

  • One D/A converter chip per channel in dual differential mode

  • Full-symmetric analogue output stages

  • Very low-noise power supply circuits

  • CNC-machined out of a solid aluminium block

  • Design, manufacturing and assembling entirely made in Switzerland and in EU

Performance
  • Network streaming resolution: PCM up to 32-bit 384kHz, DSD up to 256x (11,2896MHz)

  • S/PDIF input resolution: PCM up to 24-bit 192kHz

  • RCA output level (0dB FS): 2,0V RMS

  • XLR output level (0dB FS): 4,0V RMS

  • Signal-to-noise, weighted (SNR-A): > 120dB

  • Harmonic distortion (THD+N, 0dB FS): < 0,001%

  • Headphone output: 2x 150mW on 32Ω, 2x 50mW on 150Ω, 2x 10mW on 600Ω

Connectivity
  • Network input: 100Mbit/s Ethernet

  • Digital inputs: 1x S/PDIF on RCA connector, PCM and 1x S/PDIF on TOSLink

  • Analog outputs: 1x unbalanced on RCA connectors and 1x balanced on XLR

  • Headphone output: 6.35mm Jack connector

Mechanical and electrical characteristics
  • Dimensions (W x D x H): 6,9 x 7,3 x 2,1in (174 x 185 x 52mm)

  • Weight: 2,37lb (1075g)

  • Power supply: 5V DC, external, medical grade

  • Power consumption: 50mW (idle), 3,5 W (playing)

Restitution

¹ requires a TIDAL service account and subscription, not included with the product

² requires a Qobuz service account and subscription, not included with the product

bottom of page

top of page

Madison LE System Controller

Un lecteur numérique haut de gamme - sans le coût, la taille, ni la complexité

Avec exactement le même algorithme numérique de filtrage "spline" sophistiqué, la même interface réseau propriétaire, le même boîtier usiné dans la masse et les mêmes caractéristiques minimalistes, mais judicieusement sélectionnées, que le Madison standard, la version LE offre des capacités d'entrée et de conversion numériques qui vont bien au-delà de son prix. Pour améliorer le Madison, nous nous sommes donc penchés sur l'étage de sortie analogique, l'alimentation et le filtrage, afin d'améliorer encore ses performances dans le domaine numérique tout en augmentant les capacités musicales et les caractéristiques des circuits analogiques de sortie.

Le Madison LE utilise une alimentation externe à découpage efficace au niveau énergétique, dont nous avons réduit le niveau de bruit grâce à l'ajout d'un filtre d'entrée AC, tout en améliorant la stabilité à l’aide d’une régulation linéaire. Ceci a nécessité l'utilisation d’un boîtier plus gros. Nous aurions pu recourir au même boîtier usiné dans la masse que celui du Madison, mais comme l'alimentation est idéalement placée à distance et donc hors de vue, nous avons choisi de réduire le prix global du produit en utilisant un boîtier générique : un maximum de performance pour un prix minimum.

Les circuits internes d’alimentation du Madison LE emploient des condensateurs de meilleure performance, et la capacité totale a été doublée. Nous avons également conçu un tout nouvel étage de sortie analogique. Ce circuit différentiel et symétrique utilise deux paires d'amplificateurs opérationnels par canal, nous permettant ainsi d’optimiser l'interface avec les convertisseurs numériques-analogiques et au passage rendre le LE plus à même de piloter un amplificateur de puissance. Nous avons également amélioré la qualité des condensateurs de couplage entre les convertisseurs et l'étage de sortie analogique.

Le Madison LE renforce notre principe de valorisation de l'ingénierie Wattson Audio. Comme tous nos produits, il exploite la puissance de circuits numériques sophistiqués, pilotés par DSP, pour offrir des performances musicales remarquables.  Mais en allouant plus de ressources techniques et matérielles à l'alimentation et aux sections analogiques, nous obtenons un meilleur environnement pour exploiter ses circuits numériques et un étage de sortie encore plus performant, pour des avantages très concrets en terme de musicalité.

Grâce à son niveau de bruit très faible et à sa capacité à piloter réellement le ou les amplificateurs de puissance connectés, le Madison LE offre une dynamique et une autorité musicale, des nuances et des subtilités qui sont normalement l'apanage de produits bien plus coûteux (et bien plus volumineux). Il reste fidèle à la philosophie de Wattson Audio, à savoir des performances musicales supérieures, associées à une conception tournée vers l'avenir, peu encombrante et respectueuse des ressources.

La véritable performance haut de gamme n'a jamais été plus accessible - ni plus facile à adopter!

Systèmes et setups

Parcourez les systèmes des membres de la communauté Wattson Audio et découvrez leurs commentaires.

Vous trouverez le Madison LE en bonne compagnie dans une multitude d'installations différentes.

audio-setup-photos-web.jpg
Particularités
  • Solution de streaming propriétaire, bit-perfect et asynchrone

  • Support des formats haute définition PCM et DSD

  • Nouveau procédé propriétaire de sur-échantillonnage optimisé en réponse temporelle, héritage des légendaire modules de sur-échantillonnage d’Anagram Technologie

  • Contrôle de volume sans pertes LEEDH Processing, favorisant la connexion directe à un amplificateur de puissance

  • Réponse des basses réglable pour compenser le placement des enceintes près des murs

  • Générateur d’horloge à très faible bruit de phase

  • Un convertisseur D/A par canal en double différentiel

  • Étages de sortie analogiques entièrement symétriques

  • Circuits d’alimentation à très faible bruit

  • Boîtier en aluminium massif, usiné dans la masse

  • Design, fabrication et assemblage entièrement réalisé en Suisse et UE

Performances
  • Résolution en streaming : PCM jusqu'à 32-bit 384 kHz, DSD jusqu'à 256x (11.2896 MHz)

  • Résolution en entrée S/PDIF : PCM jusqu'à 24-bit 192 kHz

  • Niveau de sortie RCA (0dB FS) : 2.1 V RMS

  • Niveau de sortie XLR (0dB FS) : 4.2 V RMS

  • Rapport signal sur bruit, pondéré (SNR-A) : typ. 124 dB

  • Distorsion harmonique (THD+N, 0 dB FS) : typ. 0.001 %

  • Sortie casque : 2x 150 mW sur 32 Ω, 2x 50 mW sur 150 Ω, 2x 10 mW sur 600 Ω

Connectivité
  • Entrée réseau : Ethernet 100 Mbit/s

  • Entrées numériques: 1x S/PDIF sur connecteur RCA et 1x S/PDIF sur TOSLink

  • Sorties analogiques : 1x asymétriques sur connecteurs RCA et 1x symétriques sur XLR

  • Sortie casque : connecteur Jack 6.35 mm

Caractéristiques mécaniques et électriques
  • Dimensions (L x P x H) : 174 x 185 x 52 mm (6.9 x 7.3 x 2.1 in)

  • Poids : 1075 g (2.37 lb)

  • Alimentation : 5 V DC, adaptateur hybride externe Wattson Audio

  • Consommation : 50 mW au repos, 4.5 W en lecture

Restitution
  • Formats de compression supportés : WAV, FLAC, AIFF, ALAC, MP3, AAC, Ogg Vorbis, WMA

  • Protocoles de contrôle : UPnP/DLNA, AirPlay, TIDAL connect, Roon Ready, Audirvāna

  • Services de streaming accessibles par l'app Wattson Music : TIDAL¹, Qobuz², radios airable

¹ nécessite un compte et un abonnement au service TIDAL, non-inclus avec le produit.

² nécessite un compte et un abonnement au service Qobuz, non-inclus avec le produit.

bottom of page