top of page

Madison LE Amplifier

Compact – Capable - Configurable

When Wattson Audio visits familiar audio territory, the results are generally anything but familiar. The Madison LE Amplifier is no exception.

 

While the thinking behind and topology of amplifier circuitry has been resolved and refined over many years, the execution and engineering of those circuits, the design and operational choices within them, still offer significant latitude for innovation and optimization.

 

Small can be beautiful

Not surprisingly, the Madison LE Amplifier is more compact than you might expect. The chassis is milled from solid, offering optimum shielding and mechanical characteristics. Locally machined, the petite proportions consume fewer resources in terms of materials and energy, the product leaving a smaller carbon footprint in its wake.

 

Inside, the amplifier is a carefully balanced mix of the established and the esoteric. The Class AB circuit is a low-feedback design, built around twin transformers and a substantial, linear power supply with custom made capacitors. The audio circuit itself is fully symmetrical and built entirely from discrete components, from input buffer to output. It offers a choice of balanced XLR or single-ended RCA inputs while the output stage employs a single pair of carefully selected, high-power, bi-polar devices per channel.

 

Switchable operational topology

So far, so conventional – and so sensible: This is a well-trodden and well-proven path to a successful, articulate, dynamic and musically engaging amplifier design. But what sets the Madison LE Amplifier apart from the crowd is that it’s configurable to meet different or changing system requirements.

 

Delivered as a load-tolerant, 50 Watt stereo amplifier, it can be manually switched to bi-amp or high-current mono mode allowing you to upgrade your amplifier or speakers, maximizing performance with zero redundancy.

 

Selecting the bi-amp mode routes the incoming signal from a single input socket to both output channels – perfect for vertically bi-amping without having to invest in a second set of interconnects, enabling you to significantly improve the performance of existing bi-wirable speakers, or upgrade to larger, more ambitious speakers without trading in your amp.

 

Selecting high-current mono mode dedicates the entire power supply to a single output channel, increasing load tolerance and the range of available, matching speakers, future-proofing your amplifier investment against future speaker upgrades.

 

The Madison LE Amplifier might look simple from the outside, but from the carefully executed circuit and exhaustively selected or specified components, to its switchable operational modes, there’s more here than meets the eye. This is a product that’s designed to preserve and project your music just as it preserves and protects your investment, allowing your system to grow and growing with it.

System and setups

Review real world systems adopted by and the comments of our Wattson Audio community members.

You’ll find the Madison LE Amplifier in good company in a multitude of different setups.

audio-setup-photos-web.jpg
Performance
  • Input impedance:

    • 200kΩ balanced, 100kΩ single-ended

  • ​Ouput power:

    • 2 x 50W /8Ω, 2 x 80W /4Ω in stereo and bi-amp modes

    • 1 x 60W /8Ω, 1 x 100W /4Ω in mono mode

  • ​Bandwidth:

    • 2Hz to 500kHz  (-3dB) at 1W into an 8Ω resistive load

  • ​Signal to Noise Ratio: > 120dB (unweighted)

  • Total Harmonic Distortion + Noise: < 0,1%

Mechanical characteristics
  • Dimensions (W x D x H): 8,6 x 11,4 x 34in (215 x 290 x 85mm), binding posts not included

  • Weight: 15,43lb (7kg)

bottom of page

top of page

Madison LE Amplifier

Compact – Performant – Configurable

Lorsque Wattson Audio revisite un terrain connu, les résultats sont généralement bien différents de ceux auxquels on pourrait s’attendre. L’amplificateur Madison LE ne fait pas exception à ce précepte.


Si les réflexions de base et la topologie des circuits génériques d’amplification ont été abouties et affinées au fil des ans, il subsiste encore une grande latitude d’innovation et d’optimisation en matière de choix de conception, d’innovation, d’ingénierie et d’optimisation des circuits.

Miniature et merveilleux

Sans surprise, l’amplificateur Madison LE est plus compact que ce à quoi on pourrait s’attendre. Le châssis est usiné dans la masse, offrant un blindage et des caractéristiques mécaniques optimales. Fabriqué localement, ses petites proportions permettent une consommation de matériaux et d’énergie moindre, laissant une empreinte carbone plus faible dans son sillage.

Vu de l’intérieur, l’amplificateur est une alchimie entre tradition et modernité. Une alimentations linéaire robuste, constituée de deux transformateurs toriques et de condensateurs fabriqués sur mesure, fournit l’énergie à un circuit de classe AB à faible taux de contre-réaction. Le circuit d’amplification est entièrement symétrique et construit à partir de composants discrets, dès l’étage d’entrée qui offre le choix entre un signal asymétrique sur RCA ou symétrique sur XLR. L’étage de sortie met en œuvre une seule paire de transistors bipolaires de haute puissance par canal, soigneusement sélectionnés.

Polyvalence

Des choix conventionnel et judicieux, un chemin bien tracé et éprouvé pour une conception réussie et un amplificateur qui procure une écoute articulée, dynamique et musicalement engageante. Toutefois, l’amplificateur Madison LE se distingue par le fait qu’il est configurable afin de s’adapter à tout système et répondre à de différentes exigences.

D’un fonctionnement en stéréophonie avec 50 vrais watts par canal, l’amplificateur peut être basculé manuellement en mode bi-amplification ou monophonique, vous permettant de faire évoluer votre système et d’en maximiser les performances.

La sélection du mode bi-amplification dirige le signal d’entrée vers les deux canaux de sortie. C’est l’idéal pour la bi-amplification active sans les inconvénients de coût et de complexité liés à un deuxième jeu d’interconnexions. Cette configuration permet d’améliorer de manière significative les performances d’enceintes bi-amplifiées, ou d’évoluer vers des enceintes plus grandes et plus ambitieuses sans changer d’amplificateur.

Le mode monophonique dévolue la totalité de l’alimentation à un seul canal. Cette augmentation de la capacité en courant améliore la tolérance aux charges complexes et donne ainsi accès à un plus large choix de haut-parleurs. Ceci protège votre investissement dans l’amplificateur en vue de futures mises à niveau de vos enceintes.

Au premier coup d’œil, l’amplificateur Madison LE peut sembler assez conventionnel. Son circuit d’amplification rapide et ultra-linéaire, minutieusement optimisé, ses modes opératoires commutables, les composants triés sur le volet : il y a bien plus ici que les apparences ne le laissent supposer ! Il s’agit d’un produit conçu pour préserver et reproduire intégralement votre musique avec dynamisme et précision, tout comme il assure et protège votre investissement, en permettant à votre système de grandir et de s’améliorer avec lui.

Systèmes et setups

Parcourez les systèmes des membres de la communauté Wattson Audio et découvrez leurs commentaires.

Vous trouverez le Madison LE Amplifier en bonne compagnie dans une multitude d'installations différentes.

audio-setup-photos-web.jpg
Performances
  • Impédance d’entrée :

    • 200 kΩ symétrique, 100 kΩ asymétrique

  • Puissance de sortie :

    • 2 x 50 W /8 Ω, 2 x 80 W /4 Ω en mode stéréo et bi-amplification

    • 1 x 60 W /8 Ω, 1 x 100 W /4 Ω en mode mono

  • Bande passante :

    • 2Hz à 500 kHz (-3 dB) à 1 W sur une charge résistive de 8 Ω

  • Rapport signal/bruit : > 120dB (non pondéré)

  • Distorsion harmonique totale + bruit : < 0.1%

Caractéristiques mécaniques
  • Dimensions (L x P x H) : 215 x 290 x 85 mm (8.6 x 11.4 x 3.4 in), sans les connecteurs

  • Poids : 7 kg (15.43 lb)

bottom of page