LEEDH Processing

Volume control is the most common signal processing operation in audio.

Whether digital or analogue, it is a process that aims to change the amplitude of the signal without further impact.

 

In fact, this modification inevitably has collateral effects...

Studio d'Enregistrement
logo LP1 fond blanc.jpg

Volume control occurs many times in the audio processing chain, primarily during the recording, mixing and mastering stages. However, its impact is also significant during playback.

Any volume control affects the dynamic range of the signal and thus leads to a loss of information. No matter how small, this form of alteration is felt in the nuances and depth of the musical message.

 

In the digital domain, conventional systems bring a particular distortion, linked to quantization noise, which is associated with a certain coldness and hardness of listening. For this reason, many audiophiles prefer to use an analogue control, which however has disadvantages of a different nature.

LEEDH Processing    Wattson Audio

The patented LEEDH Processing volume control concept, which has been acclaimed by many experts, is based on a clever mathematical calculation that minimises quantization errors and guarantees the integrity of the signal. With this process, the amplitude of the digital signal can be modified without any deterioration effect and without coloring the sound. In many ways, this system combines the advantages of analogue and digital control.

 

Wattson Audio products with LEEDH Processing allow the digital-to-analog converter  to be connected directly to a power amplifier or active loudspeakers, without the need for an analogue preamplifier to control the volume. This topology offers the advantage of an extremely short signal path, ensuring dynamic and accurate sound.

leedh-measure-tonal_edited.jpg

Need more information?

 

In May 2020, as part of an AES convention, SUPSI's Institute of Information Systems published an analysis that will tell you more about the technical aspects of this process.

You can also find all the information on the official website dedicated to the LEEDH Processing.

logo LP1 fond blanc.jpg

LEEDH Processing

Le contrôle de volume est l’opération de traitement du signal la plus fréquente en audio.

Qu’il soit numérique ou analogique, c’est un processus qui vise à modifier l’amplitude du signal sans autre impact.

Dans les faits, cette modification présente forcément des effets collatéraux...

Studio d'Enregistrement
logo LP1 fond blanc.jpg

Le contrôle du volume intervient de nombreuses fois dans la chaîne de traitement audio, en premier lieu durant les phases d’enregistrement, de mixage et de mastering des morceaux de musique. Cependant, son influence s’avère également cruciale lors de la reproduction.

 

Le réglage de volume, quel qu’il soit, affecte la gamme dynamique du signal et introduit inévitablement une perte d’information. Si infime soit-elle, cette forme de détérioration se ressent sur les nuances et la profondeur du message musical.

 

Dans le domaine numérique, les systèmes conventionnels amènent une altération particulière synonyme d’une certaine froideur et dureté d’écoute. C’est la raison pour laquelle bon nombre d’audiophiles préfèrent utiliser un réglage analogique, qui présente toutefois des inconvénients de nature différente.

LEEDH Processing    Wattson Audio

Le concept breveté de réglage de volume LEEDH Processing, plébiscité par de nombreux spécialistes, repose sur un calcul mathématique astucieux qui minimise les erreurs de quantification et garantit l’intégrité du signal. Avec ce procédé, l’amplitude du signal numérique peut être modifiée sans effet de détérioration et sans coloration du son. Ce système conjugue sur bien des aspects les avantages des réglages analogiques et numériques.

Les appareils Wattson Audio équipés du LEEDH Processing favorisent une connexion directe du convertisseur numérique-analogique à un amplificateur de puissance ou à des enceintes actives, sans recourir à un préamplificateur analogique pour contrôler le volume. Cette topologie offre l’avantage d’un trajet de signal extrêmement court, garant de la dynamique et de la précision du son.

leedh-measure-tonal_edited.jpg

Besoin de plus d'informations?

 

En mai 2020, dans le cadre d’une convention de l’AES, l'Institut pour les Systèmes d'Information de la SUPSI a publié une analyse qui vous en apprendra plus sur les aspects techniques de ce procédé.

Retrouvez également toutes les informations sur le site officiel dédié au LEEDH Processing.

logo LP1 fond blanc.jpg